dan-woodhouse

Food for Thought

“Cooking isn’t a recipe – it’s a philosophy; unless we are talking about pastry and then it’s chemistry.”
Marco Pierre White

Supplier List

Wild Harvest – http://www.wildharvestuk.com/

They specialise in providing foraged items so primarily I use them for wild mushrooms & truffles but they also provide me with my bread flour and vanilla pods.

Donald Russell – http://www.donaldrussell.com/

All of my Scottish beef that I use for steaks comes from Donald Russell. They have a flavour and tenderness that just have to be tried to be believed.

Vicars Game – http://www.vicarsgame.co.uk/

For all of my local produce, particularly game, I use Vicars Game whose network of local farms mean I get the very best that our area has to offer.

Direct Meats – http://www.directmeats.co.uk/

For anything specialist or rare in the meat section I usually give direct a call.

Kingfisher – http://www.kingfisherbrixham.co.uk/

Based in the Devon fishing port of Brixham I primarily use Kingfisher for shellfish particularly crab.

New Wave Seafood – http://www.new-wave.co.uk/

What attracts me to New Wave is their heavy use of 1 day boats. That is to say the fish they sell comes from vessels that only spend 1 day at sea before they land their catch and as a result the fish are fresher. Almost all of my fish, including the haddock we serve for fish and chips in the Terrace Bar comes from here.

Mansfield’s – http://www.mansfields.net/

Based in the ‘Garden of England’ where else better to buy your fruit and vegetables!

Neal’s Yard Dairy – http://www.nealsyarddairy.co.uk/

For all things cheese I have never found anybody better – all from artisan British producers.

Barry Gibbon Dairy, Bicester

Milk & Cream suppliers; great quality at a good price.

Nest Egg

Peter and his wife supply me with all of our free range hens eggs

L’escargot Anglais, Hereford

I call Tony the ‘Snailman’, he produces the best English reared snails I have come across.

Ritter Courivaud – http://www.rittercourivaud.co.uk

Ritter supply me with all of my dry stores and essentials

IB Foods – http://www.ibfood.com/Default.aspx

All of my spcialist Italian supplies come from IB and in particular my rice used in the Riverside Brasserie Risottos or aged balsamic vinegar.

H & B – http://www.cheesecellar.co.uk/

Whilst I used to get cheese from here before I found Neal’s Yard Dairy I still get some bits and pieces from H&B such as capers and olives.

Agri Energy – http://www.agrienergy.co.uk/

This is my chance to be green. Agri energy supply me with all of my Non-GM vegetable oil which we use for all of our deep frying. When it is changed it is put back into the drums we receive it in and collected by Agri who then re-fine it back into bio-fuel or bio-diesel.

Comments are closed.